

6 April 2022

Ms Ursula von der Leyen President of the European Commission

Mr Charles Michel President of the European Council

Mr Emmanuel Macron President of France, the presidency of the Council of the European Union

Mr Josep Borrell Fontelles Vice-President of the European Commission for a Stronger Europe in the World High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

Ms Adina Valean Commissioner for Transport

Dear Leaders of the EU, Dear High Representative/Vice President, Dear Commissioner,

We, the undersigned Members of the European Parliament, would like to draw your attention to the urgent need to boost the Military Mobility program. In the face of Russia's full scale military invasion in Ukraine the EU Member States and NATO partners embarked on speedy planning to step up collective defence capabilities in the Eastern countries of the EU. To facilitate the increased forces stationing in the Eastern EU Member States and to enable swift deployment of the military and civilian resources in case of a conflict, we need to intensify the efforts to enhance military mobility as it is rightly emphasised in the Strategic Compass and in the Versailles declaration.

As foreseen in the Strategic Compass, by the end of 2022 the EU will take new commitments with the aim to substantially enhance and invest in military mobility and for the future will further increase and leverage investment for that purpose. In the light of these further commitments and the new geopolitical challenges, we stress the need for intensifying the work on this policy.

- A greater funding in the shortest time for the military mobility projects to boost implementation of the required infrastructural investments.

- **Increasing the proportion of the EU co-funding rate** for military mobility projects, as a minimum for the strategically urgent projects, in particular in the Eastern part of the EU.
- **A simplified procedures** for evaluation of CEF Military mobility project applications, that would significantly save time and enable project implementers to speed up the implementation of projects.
- A simplified Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) obligation for military mobility projects, which would allow performing the full EIA as part of the project implementation after the evaluation and approval of applications.

We need to match the ambition expressed in the Strategic Compass and in the Versaille's declaration with the concrete actions that would allow to react promptly and efficiently to the current security crisis that Europe faces and would boost the security of the EU as a whole.

Sincerely,

Rasa JUKNEVIČIENĖ (EPP, Lithuania)

Juozas OLEKAS (S&D. Lithuania)

Michael GAHLER (EPP, Germany)

Miriam LEXMANN (EPP, Slovakia)

Roberts ZĪLE (ECR, Latvia)

Bart GROOTHUIS (Renew, Netherlands)

Georgios KYRTSOS (EPP, Greece)

Kosma ZŁOTOWSKI (ECR, Poland)

Liudas MAŽYLIS (EPP, Lithuania)

Viktor USPASKICH (Non-attached, Lithuania)

Aušra MALDEIKIENĖ (EPP, Lithuania)

Marek Paweł BALT (S&D, Poland)

Radosław SIKORSKI (EPP, Poland)

Alexander YORDANOV (EPP, Bulgaria)

Eugen TOMAC (EPP, Romania)

Bronis ROPĖ (Greens, Lithuania)

Adam Sebastian JARUBAS (EPP, Poland)

Andrius KUBILIUS (EPP, Lithuania)

Ivars IJABS (Renew, Latvia)

Urmas PAET (Renew, Estonia)

Caroline NAGTEGAAL (Renew, Netherlands)

Hilde VAUTMANS (Renew, Belgium)

Nicolae STEFANUTA (Renew, Romania)

Gheorghe FALCA (EPP, Romania)

Andrey KOVATCHEV (EPP, Bulgaria)

Zdzisław KRASNODEBSKI (ECR, Poland)

Franc BOGOVIC (EPP. Slovenia)

Ladislav ILČIĆ (ECR, Croatia)

Attila ARA-KOVACS (S&D, Hungary)

Jacek SARYUSZ-WOLSKI (ECR, Poland)

Anna FOTYGA (ECR, Poland)

Jan-Christoph OETJEN (Renew, Germany)

Riho TERRAS (EPP, Estonia)

Dace MELBĀRDE (ECR, Latvia)

Ioan-Dragos TUDORACHE (Renew, Romania)

Vladimír BILČÍK (EPP, Slovakia)

Frédérique RIES (Renew, Belgium)

Elzbieta KRUK (ECR, Poland)

Włodzimierz CIMOSZEWICZ (S&D, Poland)

Angel DZHAMBAZKI (ECR, Bulgaria)

Inese VAIDERE (EPP; Latvia)

Vilija BLINKEVICIUTE (S&D, Lithuania)

Ivan ŠTEFANEC (EPP, Slovakia)

Michaela ŠOJDROVÁ (EPP, Czechia)

Tomas TOBÉ (EPP, Sweden)

Klemen GROŠELJ (Renew, Slovenia)

Arba KOKALARI (EPP, Sweden)

Traian BĂSESCU (EPP, Romania)

Javier NART (Renew, Spain)

Carmen-Gabriela AVRAM (S&D, Romania)

Ondrej KOVARIK (Renew, Czechia)

Sven MIKSER (S&D, Estonia)

Antonio LÓPEZ-ISTÚRIZ WHITE (EPP, Spain)

David LEGA (EPP, Sweden)

Milan ZVER (EPP, Slovenia)

Marian MARINESCU (EPP, Romania)

Peter POLLÁK (EPP, Slovakia)

Sandra KALNIETE (EPP, Latvia)

Alexandr VONDRA (ECR, Czechia)

Massimiliano SALINI (EPP, Italy)

Henna VIRKKUNEN (EPP, Finland)

Adam BIELAN (ECR, Poland)

Eva KAILI (S&D, Greece)